The “Dress”


Time to talk wedding. I have yet to become a “Bridezilla” but all this planning is a cross between exciting and, well, not? Kidding, there’s just so many details and so many things to do! It can totally overwhelm a gal.

My favorite part thus far has been dress shopping. I carefully planned this day out and was looking forward to it for over a month. (Mainly because weekend appointments are harder to get here in the city than an Iphone5)

I had 2 appointments scheduled for the first day out- I did not think an actual dress was being purchased, but I wanted to start to get an idea of what sort of style I wanted. Lovely Bride and Gabriella Bridal Salon were my first stops, both highly recommended.

My mother, sister and besty (do people still use that word?) were the lucky ones to come shopping with me.

 Pre-Shopping Fuel

Me at Lovely Bride in the West Village

I was completely overwhelmed at first. Rows of gorgeous dresses all for me to try on and I had not a clue where to start. I had a lovely consultant who helped and by the end of the appointment I was down to 2 I loved. One lace, one not. I figured I’d sleep on it and see what the next shop had to offer. Note- when you love it, you love it, it shouldn’t be anything you have to mull over. I learned that shortly after.

you are so lovely

Gabriella in the Meatpacking district was a loft space, again filled with gorgeous dresses. I was again, overwhelmed. I had another great consultant who helped me choose some dresses to try on and a few in… I FOUND THE ONE. I totally fell in love and “knew”.

Excitedly awaiting the next dress at Gabriella

Yes, I had my “bridal moment”. In fact, while I was having my moment, standing in front of a huge mirror, loving everything, I looked around for my mom and sister to share it with them and they were nowhere to be found. Where were they? They were still in the dressing room, with my sister hiding under the layers of an enormous princess gown (which she insisted I try on) playing peek-a-boo and having a grand ol’ time. Typical. Finally they emerged, and we all oohed and aahed and decided this was the “Dress”.

After, we went to celebrate at lunch with La Bottega, complete with champagne, burgers and pizza. O so elegant!

And yes, the dress is a secret until the big day. But it is ivory, elegant, beautiful and everything a wedding dress should be!

Leave a comment